Skip to content

The Novel

August 8, 2011

So, as mentioned in my introductory post, I wrote a novel. To be precise, I wrote a 50,460-word draft of a novel in one month. I made March 2011 my personal novel writing month, and successfully completed my word quota with half a day to spare.

The story I wrote started as a fairly simple one. It’s a fantasy adventure with sword fights, flawed heroes, even more flawed villains, monsters, magic and mad science (in the form of alchemy) on a fictitious continent that vaguely resembles 16th century Europe. When I began, I had only the vaguest outline of the plot, the characters and the world they inhabited. I think that made filling my daily word quotas much easier. Afterall, why should I worry about ruining something I’m writing if I don’t really know how it’s supposed to turn out in the first place?

When I was finished, my story was still a fairly simple one, but I decided that it had plenty of room for depth to be added to the characters and plot. Which is why, despite its many flaws, I’m attempting to turn it into something that fine folks like yourself might pay money to read and not be disappointed afterwards. This, I hope, will be the start of a career. (Not that I’m quitting my day job. I understand that writing is not a career that you count on to make you rich.)

The book, No Plot, No Problem by Chris Baty, founder of National Novel Writing Month, was a very helpful motivator in beginning and completing this endeavor. So helpful in fact, that after I started that book in mid-February, I decided not to wait for actual NaNoWriMo, which is November.

Anyways, if you’re reading this blog, you probably have at least a passing interest in reading my novel. Great. You’ll find the link below. First, a short disclaimer about this work in progress.

The title is a working title, and at this time I am totally open to suggestions for a real one. I am well aware that the whole thing needs vast improvement. That’s what I’m trying to do right now. There is a mostly coherent story in there, but before I even reread most if it, I already knew that it was full of plot holes, inconsistencies, poor character development, and questionable grammar. This version is presented just as it was when I finished it on day 31, typos and all.

Even so, I appreciate hearing your constructive criticism, as it can only help me during the rewriting and revision process.

So without further ado: https://docs.google.com/document/d/1PSCmXmzxYDP9-uUro3PczKMy6uB0eJGxYJPmeU6n4oQ/edit?hl=en_US&authkey=CO2PvJkH

No comments yet

Speak Your Mind

