Skip to content

Teeth – A Flash Fiction Challenge

August 11, 2011

Whatever. You've got at least 26 more.

Over at the Unsanity Files, Mr. Berg has offered a little challenge to his readers to write a piece of flash fiction based on this disturbing photo of impromptu dentistry. I’ve accepted. Let me know what you think in the comments.

I followed Kylee through the broken window into the rundown-looking cottage. I had no idea what she had in mind, but following her was all I had to hold onto at this point. What I did know for certain was that we were on the run, and that I would rather die than let them take me back. Everything about the determined way she moved, her complete lack of hesitation at breaking the window, told me that Kylee felt the same.

I followed her as she rummaging through drawers and closet doors throughout the dark living room, and then the kitchen. “What are you doing?” I asked. “We don’t have much time before they find us again.”

“Exactly. We have to get those tracking chips out, or we don’t stand a chance,” she replied without looking away from her search. “Help me find some tools.”

“Tools? Kylee, the chips are in our teeth!” She didn’t respond, and she didn’t have to for me to figure out what was coming next. My incisors ached just thinking about it.

Kylee found a hammer in one of the kitchen drawers, but fortunately she had the good sense to be disappointed. Then she remembered my knack for acquiring things before I did. “Zee, you still have that Gerber you took from the guard, don’t ya?” Of course I did.

I exchanged the multi-tool for the hammer and followed her into the bathroom. She readied a bottle of antiseptic mouthwash and set to work with the pliers of the multi-tool, hardly even wincing as she tried jerking and twisting her molar out of her gums. “Damn it, it’s too hard to do it like this on myself,” she delcared. Then she grabbed the hammer from me, flipped out the flathead screwdriver attachment from the Gerber, and using them together, chiseled the offensive tooth out of her mouth with one strike. God only knows what this girl was made of.

After spitting out her swig of mouthwash, she turned to me with that mischevious grin I had learned to love and loathe. “Your turn,” she said.

I tried to protest, still hoping there was a better way to do this, but I was practically powerless against her as she pinned me down and set to work with the pliers on my own bugged molar. Whatever those men in blue lab coats had done to her, it had made little Kylee easily stronger than a man almost twice her size. We hadn’t yet figured out just what effects their experiments had on me, but honestly, after what we’d been through, I wasn’t eager to find out.

Tears streamed down my face as Kylee dropped my former chewing buddy into the bathroom sink, and then placed the tools in as well. As she offered me a swig of mouthwash she said those fateful words. “We have a chance now Zee. We can get free of them.”

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 12, 2011 6:31 pm

    This story is really awesome. It leaves you with so many questions! Who are “they?” What did they do to Kylee? The relationship between these two also seems to be interesting. She seems to be one tough cookie, while he’s cautious! My favorite one by far! I’ll be posting my soon! Should read 🙂

    Like

  2. August 12, 2011 6:33 pm

    P.S.–How did you get the author picture on the right side of your blog to show up, let alone your gravatar? Mine is not showing up, at least not to me! Sorry for the random question!

    Like

  3. August 13, 2011 1:27 pm

    Hi Melody. Thanks for the feedback. I have no idea who “they” are or just what they did to Kylee either. 🙂 I guess if I wanted to expand this little snippet I would have to figure it out, wouldn’t I?

    It took a lot of fooling around with Gravatar’s settings, my blog’s “Settings” settings and the Widgets settings to put that picture where I wanted it. I’m actually not quite sure what I did anymore. I would suggest either that you keep fiddling with everything until it makes sense, or ask on the WordPress forums.

    Like

  4. August 13, 2011 5:28 pm

    Well that was gut-wrenching. Or I should say “teeth-wrenching.” Great premise!

    Like

Trackbacks

  1. Sources of Inspiration: Real Life « Ninjas Riding Dinosaurs

Speak Your Mind

