Skip to content

Question For You: Sci-Fi/Fantasy Book Series?

August 12, 2011
tags: ,

A question for the readers of this blog. (Amazingly, I now have some.)

What do you consider to be the quintessential series of speculative fiction novels?

By speculative fiction, I mean science fiction, fantasy, horror, etc. By quintessential, I mean the series that most perfectly embodies the spirit of collective genre I just described. What every true fan of sci-fi/fantasy/horror must read in order to be a true fan. For our purposes, a series is at least three novels long.

Is it Lord of the Rings?  Geroge R.R. Martin’s Song of Fire and Ice series?  Ender’s Game and its sequels?  Edgar Rice Burroughs’ John Carter of Mars series?  The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy “trilogy”?  Harry Potter?

I know there’s no objectively definitive answer (or is there?). It’s your opinion I would like to read in the comments. Also if you care to say why you think the particular series you chose is so awesome, that’d be great too.

PS: If anyone is interested, I’ve chosen a new working title for my novel: “Alchemy and Death Magic”. Yes it’s a total rip-off of Fritz Leiber, but since I have no intention of actually trying to publish it with that title, that shouldn’t matter. It just feels good to have a title at the top of my word document that sounds better than what I had before.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 16, 2011 12:19 pm

    May I humbly suggest the Lodestone series?

    http://markwhiteway.weebly.com/

    Like

  2. August 18, 2011 8:22 am

    I have trouble calling anything the “quintessential” series but there are numerous ones I have loved. As a kid my favorite series was Lloyd Alexander’s “The Chronicles of Prydain.” They were the only good thing to come of having my 6th grade teacher.

    Like

  3. August 25, 2011 8:53 am

    @Mark, You certainly may, since it was the first suggestion I received.

    @harry, The Prydain books were also some of my favorites as a kid.

    Maybe the word “quintessential” has scared some folks away from responding. But asking for favorites just seemed too…I dunno…simple?

    Like

  4. August 25, 2011 9:11 am

    “Quintessential” to me simply means a book or books that moved or entertained you on a deep level. Sharing those is a pleasure!

    http://markwhiteway.weebly.com/

    Like

  5. August 25, 2011 11:36 am

    How about this: The Prydain books made me want to write books of my own. They were that important to me as a kid.

    Like

  6. August 25, 2011 2:15 pm

    I tried to reply but this think just keeps deleting my posts!

    http://markwhiteway.weebly.com/

    Like

  7. August 25, 2011 10:56 pm

    Sorry about that Mark. I’ll check my settings and try to make sure there’s nothing I’m doing that’s stopping you from posting.

    Like

Speak Your Mind

