Skip to content

Edit to Criticism Post

September 12, 2011

After looking over my prior post on not always adhering to criticism, I’ve decided that it could use a bit of clarification. (Hey, we all have a bit of George Lucas in us.) In fact, some of it might come off as downright trite or just dumb.

I realize that the passage quoted from Jules Verne in that post isn’t terribly exciting in and of itself. I wasn’t trying to hold Jules Verne or my other examples up as the be-all-end-all of adventure literature. I wasn’t trying to say that I should write the same way they did in the 1860’s either.

What I was trying say is: I wrote a little bit of something that someone criticized me for. Here’s a famous writer who wrote a lot more of that something. He was famous and well-paid for his work in his own day and his novel is still read over a hundred years later. So there should be nothing wrong with me doing a little bit of what he does. That’s it.

I know I shouldn’t worry about it. I don’t write things on this blog to show off how brilliant I am. I blog to have a sounding board for myself and to get a some feedback from others. So I should be entitled to sound stupid here every now and then.

Anyways, back to business…

Speak Your Mind

