Skip to content

The 2012 “To-Read” Stack

December 30, 2011

It’s come to my attention that I might have a compulsive book-buying habit. These are just the physical books I currently have to read.

My work is cut out for me.

The stack on the left are novels or collections of novels (and one memoir by Stephen King), sorted roughly in order of my reading priority. Note: My priorities are subject to change at any time without warning. The stack on the right are collections of short fiction (and maybe a novella in the Captain Flandry collection). I tend to read selections from those on a whim rather than straight through. I have started on some of them already.

On the bottom of the left stack are the Anonymous Rex series which I have had for three years and without reading. I bought each volume for $1 at a bookstore that was going out of business. It’s possible I never will read them as I keep finding things I’m more interested in.

This doesn’t count the e-books I’ve already bought for my shiny new Kindle, or some of the books I would like to read in the coming year, or books that I have already read and might choose to read again.

Guess I need to read faster, eh?

Got a sizable ‘to-read’ stack of your own? Tell me about it in the comments below, won’t you? (Though it just might encourage me to add to my stack…)

Happy new year everybody!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 30, 2011 12:57 pm

    *Looks at “to read stack* … you haven’t got a habit yet, trust me! When you find 40+ books in a charity shop to buy one day, then you might have an habit, or a possible problem *ahem*.

    Not sure I have a stack to read in just 2012, mine is just ever growing. I just keep adding to it… it’s possibly at some point I really need to invest in an actual library.

    Like

  2. December 30, 2011 1:08 pm

    Well, it’s good to know that I don’t have an addiction…yet.

    Knowing me, I probably won’t get through all of these in the next year, but there’s a good chance that stack will still grow. This is just what I’ve whittled it down to so far.

    Like

    • December 30, 2011 1:49 pm

      You’ll buy more no doubt, I figure one day – even if its when I’m old, retired and need a magnifying glass I will catch up with my to read pile. It’s a constant rainy day stash.

      Like

  3. December 30, 2011 1:58 pm

    “The Road” is amazing!! 🙂

    Like

Speak Your Mind

