Skip to content

A Word on the Passing of Jack Vance

June 11, 2013

Better late mentioning this than never I suppose. On May 26, the great Jack Vance passed away at age 96. I know I mentioned this inspirational giant of sci-fi and fantasy literature on my blog at least once before.

There’s a whole lot more I could say, but others have already said it better, such as this blogger over at Monsters and Manuals. I don’t totally agree with everything he has to say about the other authors he mentions, but what he has to say about Jack Vance is dead on.

While I’ve only read a tiny fraction of Vance’s work, I know I’m a better writer for it. I’ll be making a point of adding more of his novels to my to-read list, and hopefully then to my have-read list before too long.

No comments yet

Speak Your Mind

