Skip to content

Musical Inspiration: Maximalism’s Soundtracks for Adventure

September 10, 2013

It’s that time of year again, between the New Year and the Day of Atonement when we Jews are supposed to make apologies and pay our karmic debts. I owe a karmic debt of sorts to the subject of this post, which I’m attempting to pay by helping to promote his work.

I’ve written before about how I rely on music for creative inspiration. In fact, I initially described my current novel project in terms of the music that helped my brain give formulate the original ideas and characters. My musically fueled daydreams have always been an integral part of my creative process. And I’m willing to bet that they’re also an important part of the creative process for at least a few of you reading this. Possibly more important than you even realized.

Which is why you should go right now to the Bandcamp webpage for Maximalism, and immediately download his recently released “Soundtrack for a Greater Adventure”. It’s available for the low, low price of Pay What You Want. Also available at the same site are his “Soundtrack for a Great Adventure” (just as excellent as Greater Adventure in my opinion), and “Soundtrack for a Brief Adventure” (nearly as good as the other two, but shorter).

If for some reason Pay What You Want (for which $0 is a perfectly acceptable sum to want) seems too steep, you can also listen to these and other albums by Maximalism for free by streaming them at the site I just linked to.

These all-instrumental Soundtracks have been great for keeping my head abuzz with fresh new ideas ever since I discovered the original Great Adventure album last year. These tracks are also great for adding that epic feel to mundane tasks like your lengthy commute to work, or folding laundry. (I find laundry often tends to suffer from a lack of epic-ness.)

And if instrumental soundtracks to adventures that haven’t been written yet aren’t your thing, maybe some of the other musical work by Maximalism, real name Brad Podray, is more to your taste. His non-adventure work features some guests vocalists. If you check out Brad’s main webpage, you’ll see he’s got quite a diverse array of musical projects in his portfolio, including, not kidding here, a pirate-themed rap group.

So have a listen, and if you like what you hear, spread the word. It’s pretty much what independent artists depend on.

cover

2 Comments leave one →
  1. cfeduke permalink
    September 11, 2013 5:45 am

    Sums up how I feel about these albums – they have been excellent from the very first. I listen to them while programming and have brought them along for my old school pen and paper gaming sessions.

    Like

  2. September 17, 2013 9:31 am

    Reblogged this on Today's Rock and Metal.

    Like

Speak Your Mind

