Skip to content

Porter in the Works

September 9, 2014

When the going gets tough . . .

Beer_9-8-14-02

. . . creative types need to take a break and make use of their other outlets. This will become a vanilla porter after I transfer it to the secondary fermenter in a day or two. It’s a partial extract, single infusion mash. Original gravity: 1.052.

Due to a mishap at the hombrew shop (ok it was my fault), I had lots of extra malt extract syrup left over once I made the wort (pre-beer, before the yeast is added). Some of the extra malt got baked into brownies that made use of the spent grain, courtesy of the Ninja-Wife, and my friend who was over to hang out and help out.

BarleyBrowniesIMG_20140907_203712_339

The remainder of the spent grain was combined with black beans and corn, and baked into veggie burger patties. Between the spent grain brownies and spent grain burgers, one turned out to be a delicious treat. The other, a noble experiment, never to be repeated. Never.

Barley_BurgersIMG_20140907_203718_923

Guess which was which.

The rest of the malt got sent home with my friend so he could make ice cream out of it. I haven’t tasted the ice cream yet, but his girlfriend texted me the other night to say how insanely good it is, and to practically demand that I hook him up with more malt in the future.

Our apartment also smells like a brewery, but that’s per usual.

I need to force myself to type up the story material I’ve handwritten lately. So of course I said to myself, naah, I think I’ll do a blog post instead.

Speak Your Mind

