Skip to content

NaNoWriMo Is Nigh! (Yup, I’m In.)

October 30, 2014

Participant-2014-Web-Banner

It’s not official if I don’t make the announcement somewhere. For those of you also participating, you can find me over on the official website for National Novel Writing Month under the name ‘Garrett am Writer’. (Garrett W. and it’s variations were apparently taken.)

Structuring writing time is always a challenge for me, so I’m looking forward to NaNoWriMo to give me some momentum, even if it’s short-lived. The Wasteland novel is being put on hold temporarily. Instead, in just 30 days, I’ll be endeavoring to complete my science-fantasy “Madlands” novel that I’ve been planning. I’ve got a far future Earth setting, I’ve got my main characters, I’ve got my central conflict, and I’ve got lots “candy-bar” scenes in my head (the scenes you most want to write). I’ve got one character that was inspired by a rabbi from the Babylonian Talmud, and another character inspired by a Judas Priest song. (No, it’s not the Green Manalishi, but that would have been my first guess too.)

Do I completely know what the hell I’m doing? Of course not, but that’s part of the fun. Is November going to be full of unavoidable distractions? You bet, but knowing me I will still likely be the cause of most of my distractions. That’s way it goes. I’ll try to update this blog with a weekly post or two while pursuing this mad quest, but as usual, no promises.

Let’s do this thing already!

Also, lest I forget to mention – have a happy Halloween everyone! And remember, he who dies with the most candy, still dies.

No comments yet

Speak Your Mind

